Instagram has launched what it calls “Sensitive Content Control” which will allow users to decide how much sensitive content shows up for them in Explore. The goal is to allow users to have a hand in the kind of experience they want to have on Instagram.
The company has a strong statement of what is not allowed on the platform that is listed on its Community Guidelines — such as not allowing hate speech, bullying, or other content that might present a risk of harm to people — and Instagram also has Recommendation Guidelines that are its rules around what kind of content is shown in places like Explore. However, while these guidelines both are designed to help keep content on Instagram safe and friendly, some content that technically follows the rules could still be seen as sensitive.
What “sensitive content” actually is, according to Instagram, is vague, but can be things like sexual or suggestive content.
“You can think of sensitive content as posts that don’t necessarily break our rules, but could potentially be upsetting to some people — such as posts that may be sexually suggestive or violent,” Instagram says.
The new feature gives users the ability to control to what level sensitive content is shown, which is broken down into three degrees. “Allow” will show more photos and videos that could be upsetting or offensive, “Limit” — which is the default setting — only shows some, and “Limit Even More” restricts that content further. The “Allow” option is not available to anyone under the age of 18.
“This new feature gives you control over sensitive content. You can decide to leave things as they are or you can adjust the Sensitive Content Control to see more or less of some types of sensitive content,” Instagram writes. “We recognize that everybody has different preferences for what they want to see in Explore, and this control will give people more choice over what they see. Our hope is that this gives you more choice, another way to make Instagram work better for you.”
Sensitive Content Control can be adjusted from Account settings under Settings from a user’s profile.